Blue Card university degree requirements

Hi everyone!

I'm a software developer who wants to relocate to Germany in 2023.

I'm checking what requirements one must meet to obtain a Blue Card residence permit. For one particular requirement there's some contradictory information. Some sources mention it, others - don't.

"The diploma of completed higher education must be related - directly or indirectly - to the job position".

Does anyone have experience or reliable information about obtaining a Blue Card with diploma that doesn't match the position? I do have a higher education which is recognized in Germany, but it's not related to software engineering or IT in general. I'm also experienced enough to get a job offer with a salary that matches requirements for a Blue Card.

Appreciate any help.

Check anabin database, if your college is listed there your educational qualification is recognized in Germany

@HjSj This is true but doesn't answer the question. A degree has to be recognized AND related to the job according to the rules. But there are also overlaps in different fields. There is such a shortage of people in some niches of IT that one with a somewhat related degree and enough experience directly in the field might be approved - if an employer is willing to do the extra work to recruit them. What isn't wanted is when someone studies accounting and then tries to work as a doctor, lawyer or biologist. It raises red flags as to why an employer would want them. The whole idea of letting in foreign workers s to bring needed skills, not just to giv4e some guy a chance in a job they are not trained for.

@TominStuttgart so the requirement does exist.

My degree is completely unrelated to IT (International Relations). But I do have 5 years of confirmed experience working as software developer, part of which was in another EU country (which issued me a Blue Card for work if that matters).

The question is how do I know my chances of approval for Germany BC?