Advice re finding legal work in Mauritius

Hello,

I am a Scottish national now residing in Mauritius as I am married to a Mauritian. I am looking for some advice on how to become a lawyer/paralegal/legal advisor in Mauritius.

I completed my LLB law degree at the University of Glasgow and obtained a 2.1. I have not completed any further study but worked as a paralegal for 2 years. I have been looking for legal jobs in Mauritius but there seems to be few vacancies available.

I spoke to someone at the University of Mauritius and was told that I should complete the Law Practitioners Vocational Course if I wanted to qualify as a lawyer. However, after speaking to someone at the Council of Legal Education I was told not to do the vocational course as I would only need to sit the bar exam at the Council. In order to sit the bar I need to have Mauritian citizenship first (which I will only get after residing in Mauritius for 4 years). I have contacted law firms with regards to completing internships but no one has gotten back to me. I have also contacted various organisations such as the bar association and the careers service for information which have been of no help. If anyone has been in a similar situation or has any advice it would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks.

Thanks for your reply.

Do you know what the 7 month bar course for solicitors at the University of Mauritius is called just so I can gather some further details?

In Scotland to qualify as a solicitor you have to complete the diploma in legal practice and 2 years traineeship with a law firm. If I decided to do this in Scotland would I be able to come back to Mauritius and apply to qualified solicitor jobs or would there still be other requirements that need to be met (such as doing the bar course/pupillage)?

Okay, yeah that's the same course the University told me about but as you said I would need to be considered a Mauritian national first before being admitted to the course.