Help with Visa requirements

Hi All

My first post so thanks for reading.

My family are looking to relocate to Mauritius for 1 or 2 years.  From our enquiries we have been told that we need to apply for a residence permit.  My husband and I work in IT supporting companies remotely via the internet which in effect means we can be anywhere in the world to earn our salary.

The problem is, I can only find info on residence permits for retirees which is not what we are? 

We have two young boys (5 and 8) who we want to school during our stay so understand we need a residence permit for us all.  But can we get one of these without announcing retirement?

Thanks in advance for any respnses

Sarah

hello Sarah.

Welcome to Expat.com!

In meantime, you can go through the various threads on Visas on the Mauritius forum.

Thank you,
Aurélie

You should apply for an Occupation Permits with the board of investment.

Occupation Permits

An occupation permit allows a non-national to reside and work in Mauritius. It is both a work and residence permit. An investor, a professional or a self-employed person may be eligible under the following conditions:

Investor: The business activity should generate a turnover exceeding MRU 4 million annually with an initial investment of USD100,000 or its equivalent in freely convertible foreign currency. If there is more than one investor in the same company applying for an Occupation Permit, the turnover criteria should apply in respect of each applicant (i.e MRU 8 million for two applicants, MRU 12 million for three applicants, and so on)

Professional: Basic salary should exceed MRU 45,000 monthly. However, the basic salary for the category Professional in the ICT Sector should exceed MRU 30, 000 monthly.

Self-employed: Income from the business activity should exceed MRU 600,000 annually with an initial investment of USD 35,000 or its equivalent in freely convertible foreign currency.