Jobwise....is this normal???

Hi!

I've moved to Toronto from New Zealand nearly two months ago.  I hold a Canadian passport, have a social insurance number, and I hold a degree.  I've been a teacher for the past three years, and in customer service prior to that.

I've been applying for jobs online using the more 'legitimate' websites like 'monster.ca' and 'jobbank.ca'. 
To date, I've applied for about 65 jobs in under 2 months -in reception / administration...subordinate office work, basically.

The thing is, although I've applied for 65 jobs...no-one, not a single agency, company or ANYONE has called me or e-mailed, or even left a message.

In NZ, they tend to get back to you rather quickly, and tell you 'yes' or 'no thank you'...but here... NO CONTACT.

Is this normal?  What's going on???

Hi Chia...i thought monster was the most reliable site.

Appreciate if you could assist. I am from Fiji and hold a BSc Degree in IT from University of the South Pacific and also have more than 4 years experience. I have an option of moving to Auckland,NZ or Toronto, Canada within the next month and need your views about both countries since you have been to both....

Hi
Is this your first job in Canada? If so, I would advise networking rather than applying through job boards. Typically only about 10% of available jobs are on these sites. Its pretty popular in Canada to hire staff through other employee referrals so hires are not so blind. List all the people you know, what companies they work for and then use that to network.

Hi thanks for the tip. Yes this will be my first job there. What is the average pay to have a good life style and will this be possible with an network engineer job. I have read on some blogs that most migrants end up in factories as degrees from the southern hemisphere is not recognized and I dont want to add to these numbers.

if you're in IT then you need to get plugged into that field. Make sure you sign up on Linkedin and start growing your network.