Extremely worried about my work pass situation...

Hi Everyone,
After reading through the forum extensively, I've decided to make a post. Hopefully I'll get some clarity regarding my current situation. Some background information about myself: I've been working in Singapore for more than 18 years, though not continuously as I worked in Malaysia and China as well but back to Singapore for the past 4 years. I have also applied for PR at the end of 2016 but it was rejected early 2017.
I'm Portuguese and previously have been granted EP quite easily (sometimes within 48 hours). After searching for a job and freelancing for the past 1+ year, I've been offered a position as senior lecturer for a local polytechnic (pay is at $7k). With my previous experience in education (Academic Direction for 6+ years, etc.), it should be a straightforward process. But with the increasingly tighten rules by MoM for foreigners, plus a few other impediments, I can't help but feel very anxious about the whole process.
Firstly, I'm currently registered as the foreign partner of a LLP (about a year old). I'm willing to give up my partnership if it means approval for my pass but problem is my employer has already applied for my pass, will this potentially be a huge deal-breaker? 
Secondly, there might be some information mismatch with previous EP applications by other companies as the HR person informed me when she's doing the application. Plus, she doesn't seem to be experienced with applying for work passes so it worries me too.
Thirdly, my ex-wife was a PR but she renounced it in 2017. As divorce is a long and tedious procedure, we're still legally married. But given the circumstances (her PR renouncement) I'm really afraid that this would affect my work pass application negatively.
Thank you all for your input. I hope to have a more stable situation and can settle down in Singapore long-term.

Please help :((