Business permit

Hi,

I currently live in Mauritius and I'm here on a spouse permit. I'm a web designer by trade and I'm looking to set myself up so I can work from home. At the moment I'm not legally allowed to work here -
does anyone know where I should start and whether it will affect my current permit?

Thanks

Hi

If you want to run your own business you would have to apply for a self employed occupational permit with an Initial investment of $35000. If you go to www.navitascorperate.mu. They have all the info online and will be able to assist you or advise on what the best way forward is.

Hope this helps a bit. My wife is currently in the same situation  as you.

Hi Pinkipops, and welcome on board,

what are your main technical skills ?

Hi,

HTML 5, CSS3, Bootstrap, some  JavaScript and jQuery.

Also some travel blogging, a relocation app (Cape Town) and SEO writing experience.

Thanks

Hi,

Thanks for your reply - seems very expensive. Thanks for the link and good luck to your wife!

Hi

Yes it is. Apparently there is the work permit route which you can go instead of the occupational permit where you will just have to register the business and apply for a work permit but this I do not know much about. I went the occupational permit route.

Pinkipops wrote:

Hi,

I currently live in Mauritius and I'm here on a spouse permit. I'm a web designer by trade and I'm looking to set myself up so I can work from home. At the moment I'm not legally allowed to work here -
does anyone know where I should start and whether it will affect my current permit?

Thanks

Hello!  :)

I agree with others regarding the self-employed status. What about working online. There should be online projects in other countries. Have you tried to work online?
Of course, online work required a personal branding to some extent. Let me know what you think. I will try to find more info