Hi to everyone, and I need some and advice please

My wife and I are planning to move to Glasgow in about 4 months. I would really appreciate some advice on some things.

What is the best and fastest way to secure a flat? This something quite important because I would not like to stay in a hotel for a few weeks before getting a flat. To be honest I will not be able to afford to live in a hotel for a month while finding a flat.

Another thing I read was that some letting agents will ask for a few months rent in advance if you do not have a UK credit record. Is this true, and if it is, is there a way around this? Could I give them statements and references from my country. Will that make any difference?

What is the work situation like? I know  lot of people complain about the work situation, but I also think it is relative to the type of job you are looking for. I am an electrician and browsing the job sites I saw that things does not look very good for getting a job, but I am not scared of work and will wait tables or do bar work or be a car car guard or whatever it takes to keep food on the table. My wife has a master degree in psychology and has a good track record as a recruitment consultant.

How bad is the crime? It does not bother me much because I am used to crime (live in South Africa).It is for the safety of my wife that I am most concerned about. Would you get stabbed if you accidentally wander in the wrong area at midnight? Or is it more of a situation where drunk people end up fighting,or domestic violence or soccer hooligans?

What is a relative nice area to live in with rent that is not too high?A basic 1 or 2 bedroom flat with good transport links.

There are some more questions I have, but I cant think of then now.If you have any additional advice that would be of some help then I would appreciate it.

Thank you