Teaching diploma

Hi Everyone!

I am planning on moving to Mauritius soon to live permanently and at the moment I am trying to get information on teaching jobs.
I am currently living in the UK and have dual nationality (French/British). I have a teaching diploma (PGCE) and can teach French, Art and English to primary and secondary level.
Could anyone tell me if this diploma is recognized in Mauritius and if so could you also tell me where is the best place to search for teaching jobs..(websites,magazines..)?
If a school agrees to hire me, would they have to sort out the visa or do I have to apply for one before?
Many thanks for your help!
N.

lili1234 wrote:

Hi Everyone!

I am planning on moving to Mauritius soon to live permanently and at the moment I am trying to get information on teaching jobs.
I am currently living in the UK and have dual nationality (French/British). I have a teaching diploma (PGCE) and can teach French, Art and English to primary and secondary level.
Could anyone tell me if this diploma is recognized in Mauritius and if so could you also tell me where is the best place to search for teaching jobs..(websites,magazines..)?
If a school agrees to hire me, would they have to sort out the visa or do I have to apply for one before?
Many thanks for your help!
N.

You said you are coming to live permanently but then you asked whether the prospective employer will do all the paper work for your permit?
As a foreign national, you will be able to reside on the island only if you have a work permit. You can come either on a work permit ( salary less than Rs 45K) and your employer will have to apply to the Ministry of Labour /Employment as per this:
http://www.gov.mu/portal/goc/empment/file/wpermit%20guidelines-jan%202010.pdf
or on an Occupational Permit ( salary equal to or above Rs 45K) delivered by the BOI as per :
http://www.worknlive.mu/menuid4.aspx