Finding work as an American

Hi there! I am a US citizen but I also have dual citizenship with the UK. I was born in North Yorkshire and my parents moved to the US when I was 2. I am in the process of applying for my British passport to claim my right of abode and have been considering moving back to the UK permanently.

My husband is American and we would apply for a spouse visa for him next. My daughter (who is 1.5 yrs) would also apply for right of abode under the laws.

My question is, since my husband would not need sponsorship from a workplace for his visa, would it still be difficult for him as an American to find work in, say, Edinburgh (or really anywhere, we're just thinking Scotland for now)? He works as a financial and business analyst and so has some competitive skills, but I know also that companies he applies might perceive him differently for being American and not Scottish. Or might perceive that he needs sponsorship when he doesn't.

Also, I'm an author with a book coming out in the UK this year, and I freelance as well, but  wouldn't mind picking up a retail or cafe job on the side as we got settled if we needed the money, both of which I have a lot of job history with. Is it tough for an American to get any kind of work? I'm hoping not since we both would have our visas covered and not be in need of any sponsorship.

Lastly, about Brexit, we're definitely curious to see what will happen. Do you think there'll be a labor shortage? I've been following the news on it trying to get a beat on what people think will happen. Mostly just curious about the thoughts of people living there rather than just what I hear on Skynews and BBC!

Thanks all for your time.

Hi and welcome to the Forum.

At the top of this page is a link to our "Discover" section, within which is our Scotland Guide; if you've not already done so, I'd recommend you read through that to see if it gives you any information you may find useful in planning this journey.