Options for remote work from Bulgaria?

Hello and zdravejte!

I am about to move to Bulgaria from Scotland (for a number of reasons), and I am looking for the best way to "port" my job. I hope some members of this forum have similar experiences and can share their knowledge.

I am a software developer, working for an American startup. However, i don't live in the US, I am a British citizen and live in Scotland, working from home - for quite a while now, and without any problem. The only presence the company has in the UK is registration with HMRC to pay me and pay the PAYE and NIC (by contracting services of an accountant). They don't mind continuing this in Bulgaria, and can send the money to BG just as they did to the UK.

My worry is how do I set up paying taxes and social security in Bulgaria? I want to be fully legal there. Doeas my employe absolutely have to create a branch just to employ 1 person? Or can I register as self-employed in BG to pay taxes and social security myself - what's involved in this?

If anyone has experience of this kind, pleese share advice!

I

Hi, I suspect you will also need some kind of visa from the immigration department to work in Bulgaria.

Not yet. We are still in the EU, and it is almost certain that those who move before Brexit will be allowed to stay :)

Hi Sogy,

Yes, you can register yourself as self-employed. If you are in Plovdiv then you can go to the BULSTAT register on 'Bulevard 6-ti Septemvri' and ask there. They will ask you for originals and copies of your degrees.. If you don't speak Bulgarian then make sure to bring someone with you who can help. Regarding the procedures, have a look here: https://www.ruskov-law.eu/bulgaria/arti … loyed.html and here: https://www.ruskov-law.eu/bulgaria/arti … ncing.html

I am registered myself as an EOOD (Ltd.) so cannot provide personal experiences with the application for freelancer.. I hope the links can help you further.

Good luck!