This needs to be said...

This is a great forum but it has been overrun by non expats.

I have now got to the point where I am now coming on here less and feel disinclined to enter into conversations that have little or no bearing on living in Riyadh as an expat.

So far it is the best expat forum I've come across with a decent contribution by a range of different people. I am either too lazy to find a better one, or there really isn't such a thing out there :D

As regards the forum being overrun by non-expats, I am a newbie here, so I am not able to tell that yet, but I judge the forum by the quality of information above all, and then by the  quantity and frequency of replies.

I am also not sure whom you classify as non-expat on the forum. By all means I am not an expat in Saudi Arabia as yet, but hey, I appreciate the info that you guys who are on the ground are providing for us who intend to join the club one day.

I think this a very noble task, and for that, hats off to all of you helpful people who spend your time for the benefit of someone else.:thanks:

Thanks for the kind words, g100f.  That's the main purpose of the forum; the chit-chat and joking back and forth creates camaraderie and keeps the regulars coming back to, in turn, help others with questions and/or problems about KSA.

But what maserman is saying I totally agree with.  Many senior members of this forum feel the same and their presence and wisdom is sorely missed here.

Ditto to MM and Allie.  I have only been here 5 months but even in that short time the flavor of the chat and content have drifted from the fun banter and joking back and forth.  The info is still there and most are happy to pass on their wisdom and experiences.  But the blog has lost the character that filled a void and pasted the time that makes living here the most it can be.