Finding employment in the funeral service in Malta

am wondering what the chances are of my wife and i finding employment in the funeral service in malta , my wife is a qualified funeral director and i am a qualified funeral service operative and we wanted to finish our careers off in malta. i am 53 and my wife 51 , and what sort of wage could we expect doing this sort of work there , many  thanks

Hi kirtley,

welcome to the forum.

There are several international funeral service companies in Malta. Try contacting them for information about work opportunities.

Do you speak Maltese?

Jobs as employees will probably pay on the usual Maltese level depending on the exact position but I have no knowledge of any details about work in the funeral business. I have been to a few funerals and seen many more but that is about it .

Cheers
REicky

Thanks have looked up mallineries they seem the biggest funeral company on the island, no we dont speak maltese , isnt English widely spoken

Not as wide as you might think.

All official business tends to be in Maltese or fall back into Maltese even if it starts in English so it might be difficult to make any kind of funeral arrangements without speaking Maltese.

The language of Malta is Maltese!

Cheers
Ricky

cheers ricky have been to malta on 6 occasions and rarely hear maltese but maybe because they know were tourists, is it an easy language to learn , thanks gordon

its easy to learn if you speak Arabic

its not easy to learn - but stick with it - even if you learn some basic phrases and words - it helps - its easier to recognize words when reading than in day to day speech. I probably know about 300-400 words but not many of them stuck together would make a coherent sentence but it all helps - and is all part of the integration process.

In business id say ricky was right - it may start in english but will sure as eggs are eggs end in maltese.