Moving to Mauritius

HI everyone

I am a South African currently living in Dubai. My husband has just accepted an offer to work in Mauritius and we will be moving to Port Louis soon.  I have some questions and hope there is someone who will be able to answer them for me.  He has been given a living allowance to rent out a fully furnished house.  Which areas do most of the expats live in?  He will be working in Coromandel (? spelling) What areas should I start looking for houses to rent in?  I am a teacher (special needs) is there a need for this in Mauritius? I also have a 2 year old daughter and will want her to go to a nursery?  Are there any decent english ones in the area?  Sorry for all the questions but hope some of them can be answered!! Many thanks in advance!

Welcome on board,

most expatriates live around Grand Bay, Tamarin, Flic en Flac. Tamarin or Flic en Flac would be fine for you ;)

Thanks Julien, will start looking in and around that area!!

Hello

I found your site and found it to be very helpful and interesting.
We “myself and wife with one daughter age 3” are thinking to make the big move to Mauritius from South Africa. Like all concerned parents there are a couple of questions we would like to know before making the big move.
First just to give you a background, we are self employed, we have our own Telecommunications company.
We have had a look at all the different visas available. But for our purpose the options are business visa or self employment visa. Could anyone please give us more detail as to go about it, who has gone through the process before ext.

Then as a parent we would like to know which is the best place to stay or area, I don't want to sound modest but we make in the region of about 1 to 1.5 million MUR per month.

So here are some questions:
1. Education for my daughter - private schooling preferred.
2. Medical insurance
3. Housing - renting for 3 years before buying. Estate Agents