Help on job offer (salary)

Hi All,

I am being offered by a private company in Valletta a position as a junior accountant with 22k salary. Is this a good salary to start in Malta?

I am currently a CPA in my country, working as an advisory professional (management consulting) in one of the big 4 auditing firms with 2 years in.

Hope this gets noticed lol. Thank you!!

Welcome to the Forum :)

Yes, €22k is a good salary for a junior accountant.

I'd agree, €22k is around what you would expect as a junior accountant in Malta. If you do a good job most companies would probably increase that to €25-€26k after your 6 month probation.

Thank you both for the reply!

My next concern is, do employers process the work permit? What do i need to do next after accepting the job?

For TCNs outside of Malta the employer needs to submit the application on their behalf. The processing time used to take 8-12 weeks but is always improving.

You really have to wait out this period - however anxiety inducing this may be.

Eur22K after taxes will net you around Eur1400 a month - although you won't pay any taxes in the first year of employment and only begin to on 1st January of the next year. Here's a tax calculator http://maltasalary.com/

22k after tax, it will be 1400 euro, based on the above accommodation, rent 600, food, 300,
utilities+transportation: 100, internet 100, then nothing left, how could survive there for people who come from another country?

MaltaAugust2014 wrote:

For TCNs outside of Malta the employer needs to submit the application on their behalf. The processing time used to take 8-12 weeks but is always improving.

You really have to wait out this period - however anxiety inducing this may be.

Eur22K after taxes will net you around Eur1400 a month - although you won't pay any taxes in the first year of employment and only begin to on 1st January of the next year. Here's a tax calculator http://maltasalary.com/