Moving to Germany, Learning the language

Hi Everyone, I'm looking for some advice from your good selves, I hope you can help :)

I've always had a desire to learn another language, in particular German. I've tried a few times via self tuition and distance learning courses but have found it difficult to juggle work and studies, so I've never quite managed to get things off the ground. :(

However, despite not making much progress so far (I would categorise myself as moderately better than an absolute beginner) I still have an ambition and interest in improving my German skills. So much so that I am toying with the idea of moving, living and hopefully at some point working in Germany.

Obviously, as I don't speak the language I would need to get a better grasp before I can even consider applying for work etc. However, with no real ties (single, no kids, no mortgage etc.) I am all for enrolling in an intensive 6/8 week course at somewhere like the Goethe Institute.

My question therefore is: would I stand any real chance of getting a job (even if it required only a basic grasp of German, if there are such jobs) after an intensive course? Is it a realistic goal or am I just kidding myself that it's attainable?

Also, even if it is realistic, is it the best way to go about it? My ultimate aim and reason why I want to move to Germany and learn the language, is a combination of gaining life experience, widening my horizons and adding to my skills. I'm 24 and ready to take a leap into the unknown, since I have little to lose and whilst I have the freedom to do so. But, if it's not a good idea I'd rather not quit my job and spend a fair amount of money if I then end up moving back home after 2 months.

Any replies would be really appreciated. If you've done a similar thing, or have experiences of any aspect of the above then your views would really help me out. :-)

There are of course people with no German skills living and working in Germany, so it is possible.