Updated last year

Expatriation usually means having to deal with administration. tells you which documents you need to cross Belgium’s borders.

Well-guarded borders

As in any country, Belgium requires its visitors to comply with local laws. Therefore, we advise you to make some research before your trip to avoid unpleasant surprises.

Do I need a visa to enter Belgium?

European Union nationals

As in every Member State of the EU, citizens don't need a visa to cross Belgium's borders. Only identity papers or a valid passport are required. This rule applies to any person accompanying you if they stay no longer than 90 days.

If your stay exceeds 90 days, make sure you have enough resources. Your health insurance will have to cover all your medical care in Belgium. Furthermore, if you stay longer than 90 days, you will have to register to the communal administration where you live in the three months following your arrival in Belgium.

If you wish to have a permanent residence in Belgium, you can ask for it after spending five uninterrupted years in the country. When you report your presence on Belgian soil at your arrival, you receive a registration certificate by the communal administration. The five year time period starts upon receiving it.

Third country nationals

If you are not a citizen of one of the EU member states, you need a visa to stay in Belgium, no matter how long you choose to stay. You can ask for it at the Belgian embassy or consulate in the country you live in.

Reasons to enter Belgium and ask for a visa:

  • Tourist visit
  • Family or friends related visit
  • Cultural or sport event
  • Business trip
  • Short internship
  • Transit through the Schengen area

As for a long-term stay, you need an authorization from the appropriate ministry.

Nationals from the following countries need a visa to enter Belgium:

Afghanistan ' South Africa ' Algeria ' Angola ' Saudi Arabia ' Armenia ' Azerbaijan ' Bahrain - Bangladesh ' Belize ' Benin ' Bhutan ' Burma/Myanmar ' Byelorussia ' Bolivia ' Botswana ' Burkina Faso ' Burundi ' Cambodia ' Cameroun ' Cap Verde ' China ' Columbia ' Comoro ' Congo ' North Korea ' Ivory Coast ' Cuba ' Djibouti ' Dominica ' Egypt ' Emirates ' Ecuador ' Eritrea ' Ethiopia - Fiji ' Gabon ' Gambia ' Georgia ' Ghana ' Grenada ' Guinea ' Guinea-Bissau ' Equatorial Guinea ' Guyana ' Haiti ' India ' Indonesia ' Iraq ' Iran ' Jamaica ' Jordan ' Kazakhstan ' Kenya ' Kirgizstan ' Kiribati ' Kosovo ' Kuwait ' Laos ' Lesotho ' Lebanon ' Liberia ' Libya ' Madagascar ' Malawi ' Maldives ' Mali ' Morocco ' Marshall (Islands) ' Mauritania ' Micronesia ' Mongolia ' Mozambique ' Namibia ' Nauru ' Nepal ' Niger ' Nigeria ' Oman ' Uganda ' Uzbekistan ' Pakistan ' Palau ' Papua New Guinea ' Peru ' Philippines ' Qatar ' Central African Republic ' Democratic Republic of Congo ' Dominican Republic ' Russia ' Rwanda ' Saint Lucia ' Saint Vincent and The Grenadines ' Solomon (Islands) ' Samoa ' Sao Tome ' Et-Principe ' Senegal ' Sierra Leone ' Somalia ' Soudan ' South Soudan ' Sri Lanka ' Surinam ' Swaziland ' Syria ' Tajikistan ' Tanzania ' Taiwan ' Chad ' Thailand ' East Timor ' Togo ' Tonga ' Trinidad-and-Tobago ' Tunisia ' Turkmenistan ' Turkey ' Tuvalu ' Ukraine ' Vanuatu ' Vietnam ' Yemen ' Zambia ' Zimbabwe.

Other conditions regulating access to Belgium and the Schengen area also apply. They vary according to your nationality, the type of visa and the reason for your stay. You can find more information on that topic on the Schengen area website or on the article Visas for Belgium.

We do our best to provide accurate and up to date information. However, if you have noticed any inaccuracies in this article, please let us know in the comments section below.