Working with Card A and Annexe 19Ter

Hi guys!

I am totally confused with all this bureaucracy. I have applied for family reunification process based on legal cohabitation with my partner. And I currently possess type A card as I am a student.
I wanna work and I read that I can trade in my A card for Orange   Annexe19 and start working, however, my commune told me that I cannot trade in my card and that I can actually work with my student residence permit together with Annexe 19Ter.

Is that true? I have never heard that you can work with you student residence permit and I am in doubts? my employee doesn?t know about such details either

Hello

As you've already your annexe 19ter, it means that your partner is EU and you've already signed the legal cohabitation (meaning that you're registered in the household composition of your partner).

This, indeed, means that you don't need a work permit anymore as you're a family member of an EU.
You'll have to give them a copy of the annexe 19ter (don't give your original one, KEEP IT no matter what!!!) for now, then you'll give them a copy of your F card once you receive it.

Hi,

Thank you for your kind reply. I actually had the same question. So, Annex19TER would be sufficient to work? Is there anything else needed, like the orange card?

Hello,

if you have the annexe 19ter, then it should mean that you have also received your orange card at the same time (if your commune is not annoying... some ask to come back 1-2 weeks later for NO REASON or fake reason like they don't have orange card available to do it right now)

Annexe 19ter is not a work permit.
But in that orange card, you'll be able to read: unlimited work permit because you're family member of an EU.
And so, your orange card or your future F card is a valid work permit. (and that's what your employer will want to see / if you want to open a self employee business)

Thank you so much for your clarification!!