Lost job and how long can i use healthcare

Dear Friends,
I will potentially lost job in Germany as a result of company restructure.  I am a residence of Germany, but not a citizen. I am a Canadian citizen.  I understood that i can get unemployment benefit for about 6 months to 1 year and also healthcare coverage during this period, but what happens after that if I am still not able to find a job. Can someone advise on this?

I have to say that I have no personal experience with unemployment or getting any kind of benefits. The following advice is correct to the best of my knowledge but honestly beyond my scope of expertise of a very very detailed and complex subject and there are special rules for foreigners. I skimmed through the links below but to give a better overview is like trying to sum up a 500 page book on quantum physics into a few paragraphs for beginners.

The following websites gives comprehensive information about the subject (all German only):

https://www.hartz4.org/https://www.arbeitsagentur.de/arbeitslo … -vermoegen

A link from the previous site that is very relevant:
https://www.arbeitsagentur.de/datei/Mer … 015397.pdf

If one still has a limited residency (befrisitete Aufenhaltserlaubnis) and cannot support themselves then it won't get renewed and they will likely have to leave the country. If they have an unlimited residency (unbefrisitete Aufenhaltserlaubnis) or settlement permit (Niederlassungserlaubnis) then they can stay.

When initial unemployment benefits known as Arbeitslosengeld 1 run out then there is the option to apply for social help in the form of Hertz 4 AKA Arbeitslosengeld 2. But this only applies if one is nearly destitute. The current cut off point is if one has over 150 Euros per year of their age (ex. a 30 year old calculates to 4500 Euros) of financial assets then they don't qualify. One would have to pay their living costs out of pocket until they have depleted their resources to the level they do qualify.