Visas for Americans - need information on the system?

Hi, Everyone -

I am Corinne... an American who will be relocating to France.  I am confused as to which type of Visa to get... I could get the Visitor's visa as I meet the qualifications, but I would like to work as I've been a professor for 20+ years in business, literature, and writing.  I'm also TEFL certified. 

If I have a visitor's visa (going for residency in 5 years as a retiree) I am not permitted to work in France.  However, not sure I can 'prove' an income at this point for a different type of visa as I have no work in France at this time.  Anyone have any advice about this?  I'd really appreciate the help!

Moderated by Priscilla 2 years ago
Reason : inappropriate and off topic

Can you get the VLS-TS and maybe look for a job while here ? I don't know if that's allowed or not.

One sounds rather privileged to say they are going to move to France but might have no legal pathway to do so. Americans do not need, and don't get issued, a tourist visa in any of the Schengen countries like France. They can come for up to 90 days in a 180 day period for visa-free tourism. And there are no real “qualifications” other than being free of a serious criminal record.

But to stay longer, one needs to establish residency on the basis of getting a work or study visa. With TEFL credentials you could likely get a job teaching English which sounds like a good option.

Normally one needs to line up a job before coming to get a work visa. In Germany, where I live, we have a job seeker's visa where one can come for up to 6 months to look for a job but they need to show good credentials which would suggest a likelihood of getting work.