Leaving Belgium - payment for unused leave days?

Hi,

I've been working in Belgium since 2019. The first year I had no entitlement to paid leave days yet (except for the 'European leave days' which are deducted from the holiday pay).

Now I have resigned and will be leaving Belgium soon for a new job elsewhere.
I have quite a large balance of leave days I didn't take yet this year (built up over last year).

I will not be able to use all days before the end of my contract.
On top of that, by working for half a year this year, I should have an entitlement of almost 10 days also for the next year.

I understand that normally one takes these days to the next employer, if staying in Belgium. However, when changing countries, this will not be possible. My employer claims that the balance of these unused days will not be paid out.

Has anyone else had a similar experience? Is there really no legal obligation to pay unused leave days (if not possible to use them the same year with another Belgian employer)?
I'm not able to find information about this... But it feels rather unfair, especially given that I have in principle paid for my leave days in the first year, and now with a large balance I'm not able to use, will not be compensated.

(just to be clear: my question is not about the holiday pay/double pecule de vacance - it is about transferring unused leave days into payment. This is a rather common practice in other countries as far as I'm aware).

Thank you

ESL1 wrote:

Hi,

I've been working in Belgium since 2019. The first year I had no entitlement to paid leave days yet (except for the 'European leave days' which are deducted from the holiday pay).

Now I have resigned and will be leaving Belgium soon for a new job elsewhere.
I have quite a large balance of leave days I didn't take yet this year (built up over last year).

I will not be able to use all days before the end of my contract.