How is the software developer job market in Malta?

Hello, I am a software developer from the USA and I have been looking into moving to Malta. My main concern is the job market and cost of living. Does anyone have any information on the Job market for software developers? I have just over 5 years of experience and I know most modern tech stacks, so I have a pretty high salary here in the USA; How are the salaries for devs in Malta?

50k/year seems normal there is a lot of demand but the industry is immature and does not get support from local government (for ex creation of government IT is outsourced to Dubai)

50k is a lot for here though but it's ultimately a bad idea when one can earn 5 to 10 times that elsewhere.

Would the cost of living and more vacation time make up for the hit you take on salary? Also the 5-10x mark is a little off. The average junior developer salary in the USA is only ~65k and the average for an experienced developer varies, usually 75-95k unless you live in a very expensive city, then it will be higher.

Maybe this LINK might help?

Thanks for the link. When discussing salaries in Malta is it post or pre tax?

Normally salaries are advertised as pre-tax as everyone has different circumstances.

fmiccoli007 wrote:

Would the cost of living and more vacation time make up for the hit you take on salary? Also the 5-10x mark is a little off. The average junior developer salary in the USA is only ~65k and the average for an experienced developer varies, usually 75-95k unless you live in a very expensive city, then it will be higher.

Sure. Not everyone earn 10x. It's easy as a consultant though.

I work remote from Malta for American companies, you can have your cake and eat it too. Granted not junior work though