Renting a Flat - is it really that simple? (Tanger)

Hi everybody,

Found my dream flat in Tanger. Went to see it today - just perfect! After a quick look, I realised the place was a bit degraded, but still very functional. It is located near Place des Nations - which looked quite safe and well-connected this morning. I must be taking public transport to Iberia every morning, so it is essential to be central.

I am renting through an agency that has good reviews online (Access Immo Tanger). The agent was very responsive to my questions, but I still have some concerns... He only asked for a copy of my passport as a way to prove identification and write the contract. Payment can be done by different means (cash, bank transfer, etc). The rent does not include bills or condominium - which is fine. Even so, every cost fits my budget.

Any advice before I sign my contract?

I will be studying for a degree in Tanger. He asked me for a confirmation that I am a student, but this can only be provided in September, once I start my course — since I am still registered as a tourist, not a student - would it be ok to rent a property?

I am a single man, but I might be having guests staying with me in the flat (not subletting, just friends) - is there any rule about having guests? How should I find out about this?

I am a musician, but I am not aware about regulations concerning sounds/music in residential spaces - how does it work in Morocco? Is there any "law of silence" that I should be aware of? Can my neighbours become a problem in the future? (I stress: I am not a loud person, but I can't stand silence).

I would like to make some changes to the structure of the flat - paint the dirty walls, for example, or maybe install some bookshelves, etc. Is that ok? Am I supposed to get any discount for improving the flat? Should I reach an agreement with the landlord first?