Expat Hiring banned in Oman for certain sectors - 2018

Hello there,

I realise that the Oman Govt has banned private sector companies from hiring expats for the next 6 months in certain sectors.

I am a Chemical Engineer from India and have recently accepted a decent job offer from a European firm in Oman, 2 months back.

In the list of the Engineering job profiles which have been banned from hiring expats,  chemical engineering is not mentioned. But will there be a problem in getting the required clearance because of this expat ban.

I am kind of worried as my Company HR is saying that the Labour Clearance is being processed and is being looked into. It's been more than 2 months now and I also resigned from my job because of this. 

Any inputs regarding the same would be of great help.

Thanks in Advance,

With warm regards,
Richard Mathew.

Hi richardmathew_,

Resigning from your job is a very unwise thing to do. Until and unless you see the employment visa in your name and bearing your passport number you should not have resigned.

Many posts are in the forum on the same subject. Reading them would have given you the much-needed wisdom not to resign from your job. Now all you can do is hope and pray that your labour clearance comes through soon and you get your employment visa.

Hi Mr.Sumitran,

Thank you for the response !!

I feel I've done a grave mistake by actually resigning. But there's no option left now but to wait.

I just hope and pray things get sorted out ASAP.
Fingers crossed.

Regards,
Richard Mathew.

Hi Richard,