What are the dos and don'ts of finding a job in Cyprus?

Hello everyone,

Where is the best place to start when looking for a job in Cyprus? Is it better to job-hunt by directly contacting the company of your interest, or should job-seekers rely on a recruitment agency, for example?

Are there any unique aspects that job-seekers should consider when preparing their CV/résumé and cover letter? Should a photo be included?

Do you have any tips on interview conduct in Cyprus? Are there any particulars, such as greetings or behavioural customs?

In you opinion, is knowledge of the local language or a regional language necessary to successfully apply for a job? What level of the language should job-seekers have mastered?

Thank you for sharing your experience.

Priscilla

Hi Priscilla

are you an Indian?

I am trying to find opportunities in Cyprus. I am a young professional working in India and would like to speak with someone from India who has just moved there. Do you think you could get me in touch with some people?

Please let me know.

Thanks
Abhi

Hi Priscilla,

If you really want to move in Cyprus, make sure you get all the information on how to obtain a residence and work permit. Probably the best place to start is your country's embassy or consulate in Cyprus.
There is no magic formula to find a job. My advice for you is to plan a trip to Cyprus and stay as long as possible so you can have a face-to-face interview with a potential employer. You can search on google for jobs in Cyprus. You can apply directly to a company or contact a recruitment agency. I recommend both of them in order to maximize your chances. You can apply for any job that is related to your experience but you can find companies that are willing to teach you everything you need to know for a specific position and they do not require any experience.