The best way to find English Teaching jobs in Medellin?

Hello,

I am new to Medellin and I am currently searching for work as an English teaching. I am British, TEFL qualified and I have a degree. I am currently sending out my CV however I am not sure the best way to contact them (By email, in person etc) and I am also struggling to find any jobs advertised online. I have been told by many there is a huge demand for English teachers here so it must be something I am missing.

If you have any advice regarding the best places to contact, how to find work or if you know anywhere that needs a teacher please let me know.

Many Thanks,

Sam

SBGuia wrote:

I am new to Medellin and I am currently searching for work as an English teaching. I am British, TEFL qualified and I have a degree. I am currently sending out my CV.  However I am not sure the best way to contact them (By email, in person etc) and I am also struggling to find any jobs advertised online. I have been told by many there is a huge demand for English teachers here so it must be something I am missing.

If you have any advice regarding the best places to contact, how to find work or if you know anywhere that needs a teacher please let me know.

Welcome to the Medellín and Colombia forums, Sam.

Colombians are eager to learn English .. want to go to the U.S. .. and don't seem discouraged yet by any anti-U.S. immigration talk from you-know-who.

Here's something you can do today, presuming that by being "new to Medellín," you mean that you are here already.

Show up at the #1 candidate school you have identified so far .. and seek out the English department.

Tell security you'd like to meet the head of the English department.  Bring some paperwork such as your TEFL diploma or a copy of it.