Getting Permission to Live in Romania beyond 90 days

Hello,  I am an American who desires to come to Romania to live.  I have friends there and I want to come and learn the language and about your culture.  I know I can come there solely on my passport for a period of up to 90 days, but I really want to stay beyond the 90 period.  I would like to reside there for at least one year.  I might attend classes for language. I am also a nurse here and although retired I could possibly do volunteer work helping elderly people or sick people in their homes.  This is something I would be very happy to do.  I just need to know what I would need to do to get permission to stay beyond the initial 90 period.  I know I have to apply for visa, but I am not sure if that alone will help me to stay.  Please advise me.  Thank you!

Sincerely,

James Roberts

Mr james, you are welcome in Romania!  I am Touati Mohamed Ali rezident in Romania and living from over 20years here.
There are a entry of tricks and methods to have a permission to stay in Romania over 90 touristic days permission.
To employed by a Romania  company with contract full time or part time
Or to open an association with 2others dealing with babysitters and social assistance for other americans and anglophone here
The other solutiin is to get married here with a sweet Romanian lady...
So take your choice and feel free to ask when you decide about it.
I am on the consulting area for start up companies and social help cor expat and imigrants.

tovati wrote:

The other solutiin is to get married here with a sweet Romanian lady...
So take your choice and feel free to ask when you decide about it.
I am on the consulting area for start up companies and social help cor expat and imigrants.

Suggesting a marriage of convenience just to live in Romania a year? Sorry, but that is not at all sound advice to an expat, as it will create more problems than solutions. 

Romaniac
Expat.com Experts Team