Should I give up before I've started

Hi all,

This is my first time posting on the forum and I'm so glad to have found a place with so many people ready and willing to help with just about anything :D

I've been thinking seriously of applying for teaching (English) jobs in KSA and was motivated by a friend who made it seem like the easiest thing in the world. Given my individual circumstances and having done some research online, I now wonder if that's the case.

I have a degree (not in English), a CELTA and a PGCE along with 4 years teaching experience in the UK. This all seems fine when I look at the vacancy requirements but I'm a married woman with 4 children and not many of the ads make mention of family contracts.

I just wanted to find out how likely it would be for a woman to sponsor a family (and a large one at that!) in KSA and whether recruiters might be put off by this in the first place.

I'm not normally defeatist but this time I'm wondering whether to give up before I've even started :(

never know till you try

'Single' contract, it means just that--they won't sponsor your family.

I know that in the beginning, a few years back, recruiters for PNU used to promise teachers they could bring their families over and many women came here to teach based on that promise, but it never materialized so many of them left.

I don't know if this is still the case (promising that families can come) or not, but do be extremely careful.  Recruiters can say anything they want to get you here (for this they get a fee), even if you don't stay (but in the meanwhile, your life has been turned upside-down).

First, are you only looking at KSA?

Alternatively, this was pointed out yesterday:

http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/educ … s.20014690

UAE jobs requiring PGCE.

or something someone was sending around (only mentions spouse and 2 kids):

SECONDARY ENGLISH LANGUAGE TEACHERS - BRUNEI:
Nationwide
Salary - From £22,000 to £44,000 per year
Apply now
Job description: