Need to know the average monthly cost of living in Cairo

Hi everyone.

I am a Bangladeshi. Currently doing my masters in Economics in Canada. I intend to spend the summer of 2012 (May to August inclusive) in Cairo for a UNDP internship. To that end I need to know:
1. The average monthly expenses in Cairo for a single guy for: rental, food, utility and communication bills, transport, insurance and/or taxes.
2. The same if a wife accompanies him

FYI, I am quite tight on budget since I am a graduate student (limited by my University funding only).

Thank you in advance for your reply.

Cheers.

Welcome to Expat.com tan1985!;)

Harmonie.

Hi,

I recently stayed in Egypt for 9 months and i stayed in Zamalek, the most expensive area, i stayed with my wife and i spent 1500 USD per months including everything with mid level life style.

Zayed

Welcome :) ,
rental:  Zamalek is Expensive but a Luxurious place to live  rentals are between 800 to 5000 L.E & maybe more monthly  there is less than 800  but I don`t personally recommend it because it would be in a random place .. etc , it depends where you gonna stay.

food: you can go for example to "Spinneys" at City Stars which located in Nasr City and buy all what you need for a whole month also it depends on what kind of food you eat ..etc

Utility and communication bills: You can get a line from "Vodafone.com.eg or Mobinil.com or Etisalat.com.eg" and see the packages that suits you , as for Electricity: it may be around 40 to 80 L.E monthly if you don`t use A/C , with A/C it will be higher some times it reach 150 L.E , it depends on many things at your place where you live ,  Water & Gas: are pretty cheap , water is about 20 to 30 L.E monthly & kinda the same for gas as you will cook at home , you can use "otlob.com" to get delivery orders online ,