Where is best? For those that are sensitive to bug bites.

Which area would be least prone to bug bites, mosquitoes, sand fleas, and all the rest of the tiny biting creatures. Or is one simply destined to wear bug spray every time one ventures out? I have read that the Cayo district has fewer mosquitoes than the coast. Can anyone verify from personal experience if the bugs in Belize are really that bad. I have lived in the tropics and the only way to keep from getting bitten was to keep a fan blowing all the time. The bugs seem to be particularly fond of me, I'm always the one with the most bug bites.
I'm new to Belize, and have lived in South East Asia for well over 3 decades, and I have never been bitten so badly as I have here. I am at wit's end. Hoping they get sick of me. My partner hardly gets a bite. Resorting to long pants, socks, long-sleeved shirt at worst times of a.m. and p.m. and spray, of course.
That's what I am expecting. Lots of insects. I lived in Las Vegas Nevada for six years and I don't think I was bitten by a mosquito six times if that.
We were there for the month of June. One of the locals told us that the mosquitoes are worse now than he can ever remember.

We carried tea tree oil to put on each bite as soon as possible. The bites didn't bother us then, but I was still concerned about getting a virus.
I Mostly where short sleeve shirts and pants.   Shower with skin so soft. Then spay insect spray on my clothes. It works for me and minimize the bites. 
I think location and population density has lots to do with bugs. Especially mosquitoes. We live in a jungly area, elevated with a bit of a breeze most of the time. Rural Cayo. No neighbours close by. We can control standing water etc.
We do get an occasional evening when there's no wind. So we stay in or cover up. We've had a small bottle of locally made repellent for quite some time. We don't burn coils, or spray our house nor property.
But….maybe bugs just don't like us 😉