Confusion About Schengen Rule 90/180

Greetings,

Totally perplexed here.  It is my understanding that the Schengen rule is basically 90 days in EU (Schengen nations) and then 90 days out.  I am currently spending time in Andorra and figured I could return to Spain sometime in December.  But, now, my attorney in Spain tells me I have to be out a total of 180 days!  Is this correct?  Just to get another legal opinion, I paid an attorney on-line 5 euros for a quick answer and he replied that yes, it's 90 days in and then 180 days out before I can return to a Schengen country. 

I guess I'll go to Istanbul for 3 months before I can re-enter.

Any help with this question would be appreciated.  There is a lot of information on being able to stay for 90 days maximum within a 180 day period, but very confusing on when I can return.  Most forums say 90 days in 90 days out.  I was hoping for that, but I think I'll have to rethink my plans.

I am no lawyer, I will have to check, but I am pretty sure it is 90 days in 90 days out.

A quick video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eLsxK8jc5gI

https://ec.europa.eu/home-affairs/polic … culator_en

The Schengen Zone allowance is for up to 90 days in 180 days (which can be 90/90 or many other combinations). It's very definitely NOT 90 days in, then 180 days out (if that's really what they were saying). Technically, it's a rolling count, you look back on the last 180 days... and count how many days you were there. If today makes it 91, you have overstayed. If, for example, you go back to the US for 6 months (or more), the clock resets, as you have 0 days in the last 180 days.

These days are counted in any Schengen country, so you can spend it only in Spain, or in a combination of Germany, Spain, and Netherlands (for example).

EU but not Schengen (Bulgaria, Cyprus, etc.) or non-EU (Serbia, Turkey, etc.) have a separate 90 days allowance.