Relocating to Ireland

Hi, I am a South African citizen wanting to relocate to Ireland and I have absolutely no idea where to start. My husband is a Lebanese citizen and our son has dual citizenship. Where do we begin?

Hi again. :)

The Irish Government have a website where you can start; this link will take you there.

You'll need a work permit in order to work in Ireland; at the top of Ireland Forum is a post titled "IRELAND - WORK PERMITS", I'd recommend you read it and check that you have one of the skills required.

I recall from your previous questions that you have a teaching qualification?  There is a  "Teaching and Educational Professionals" section in the "highly skilled" lists, so you may strike it lucky.  It doesn't guarantee you a job, but should you qualify, you can work.

Hope this helps.

Cynic
Expat Team

Hi there,

My husband actually has a degree in Physical Education and is a professional basketball player as well and I have a degree in Communication Science. Since, teaching and education is on the skilled list, what would there next step be? How would one go about finding a job in Ireland?

If you read the link I suggested, you'll see that it says for "Teaching and Educational Professionals

Irish Government website wrote:

..... Academics who hold a qualification equivalent to Level 10 of the National Framework of Qualifications in a given discipline awarded no less than two calendar years prior to the date of application for an employment permit, with a minimum of one academic year of  relevant teaching experience, and the employment concerned is in a third level institution governed by the Irish Universities Act 1997 (No. 24 of 1997) and the Institutes of Technology Act 2006 (No. 25 of 2006)