Relocating to Ireland as a retired person

I am a Noob here, I am interested in relocating to Ireland as a retired person (1-3 years) I am interested in opinions regarding areas to settle. since I wont be working still I don't have to care about proximity to anything specific. I would buy a home (I will not pay rent) would want to be less than three hours from the Dublin airport, Coastal towns are beautiful, but always premium cost, Country areas seem like a better value. We would want to be on the warmer/drier (supposedly) side of the Island (southeast) we are from very dry Utah. I was thinking county Carlow or Wexford. I would love opinions. Are small villages accepting of outsiders? Are there places Americans tend to gravitate to for whatever reasons? What are those reasons? What is the prevailing opinion of property crime? Where do others choose to live given their own preferences? (I know there are infinite answers) I don't have any need to live behind gates or in high prestige developments (I have a pathological hate for suburbs) We are home bodies, I have an antique car to work on so I need a garage or space for one. My son lives/works in greater Dublin and I route occasional business travel through there.  I can get to look around plenty before I need to do anything.

Additionally, I will do a ton of reading the posts already here.

Hello Nev1Impaler,

Welcome on board !

I have created a new thread from your post on the Ireland forum so that members can guide you.

What we usually advise members is to rent first, have a feel of the region then plan on buying.

You can read the articles under the Accommodation in Ireland section of the Expat Guide to gather as much information possible.

Have you visited the regions you mentioned in your post ?

All the best,

Bhavna

Just a few points that might help