Thinking of moving to Queensland from Malaysia. Need advice

Hi guys,

I am very new to migration between Australia and Malaysia. Btw I am a freelance bookbinder and part time commercial photographer working in Kuala Lumpur. I have long been thinking to work abroad in Australia especially not in the big cities such as Queensland. I am a graduate majoring in Human Resource Management in my local government university.

I would like to ask you guys for which am I eligible for skilled worker in your country as a book binder and part time photographer? I did see the profession is in the list of skilled workers demand in Australia.

Could you guys help me out for better guidance since I have no reference from friends who works in Australia.

Hi hatizal,

Welcome to Expat-blog! :)

Hope other members will be able to advise you.

You may view this article : Work in Australia

Wish you good luck
Christine

Hi Hatizal,

Did you check out the Australia's Immigration website at immi.gov.au ?

The direct link to the skilled occupation list is as follows:
http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/sol/

You have to read carefully which schedule of the SOL you are reading.  Based on the information, if your occupation is found in Schedule 4, it states that GSM applicants must be nominated by a State or Territory government agency under a State Migration Plan.  Check out regional government websites of Victoria, New South Wales,etc. There might be some information on this website about specific skilled occupations that the region is willing to sponsor applicants.  But even if you are sponsored by the regional/state government, it doesn't always include a job. Just providing you with a visa in order to be able to work in that region/state.

Not familiar with the industry you work in. But check out some of Australia's online job websites mycareer.com.au , seek.com.au, careerone.com.au , etc.  to apply for jobs that you maybe qualified for.