Your best business development ideas in Dominican Republic

Hi everyone,

As a foreign entrepreneur, launching a business in Dominican Republic is a fantastic project and an exciting challenge. Some ideas are likely to succeed. Some others are promising but may not work as well as intended.

In your opinion, what kind of business or industry is likely to succeed in Dominican Republic? What kind of industry or service currently unavailable or underdeveloped in the country would meet local needs?

On the other hand, what are the most common business types foreign entrepreneurs would be eager to launch in the country but with very little chance of success?

Thank you for your insights.
Priscilla

Import/Export, 20/10 stores, Supermarkets, Drug stores, Clothing and Textiles.

First there are many many opportunities here.

Second I don't give away specific ideas, I am a business consultant.

What works - good quality service! It is almost nonexistent here.

Facts - anything imported is expensive, labor is inexpensive on a relative basis but materials are not cheap.

Business requires constant supervision and constant training.

Con no and not likely to succeed - another beach bar / restaurant.

You need  General business skills, language, business specific knowledge  And experience and $$$$$. 

Then you better know this culture, because you are not in Kansas anymore!