Thinking about moving to Australia.

Hello.  Please pardon me if I'm posting in the wrong section.  Also, I'm very new to this--the idea of moving my family out of the country.

I'm considering moving myself, my wife and our (2yr old) daughter to Australia.

I'm 43 and a calibration technician for a pressure transducer company in USA.  I have a number of skills.

I'm a little concerned that I might not have a lot of money, but am, even now, saving up what I can, in case we are able to move.  It surely will be a miracle; we've had them before.

I've looked at some of the job postings that I've seen and it seems like mostly jobs that would be over my head.  Where can I find a website that has technical positions to consider?

Are there a lot of technician jobs in Australia?  (I realize that's a broad question.)  Is there anyone I can talk to in person to ask some questions--by in person, I mean someone at an embassy or somesuch?

I live in New England now; what "state" in Australia would have a similar climate as New England?

That's it for questions now.  I'll try to not ask too many that are duplicated elsewhere.

Thank you.

Hi,

maybe this discussion can help ? Find a job in Australia.
I also recommend you to read the Australia guide and post your CV in the jobs section (in the classifieds)

Hope this helps,

Julien

I'm hoping to start the process of getting passports, starting this week.  I'm assuming passports are necessary, in addition to getting some kind of visa.

My family and I have recently moved to the place we're living now; we're not unpacked.  I thought I read somewhere that I need to have several years/months of bank records available to show proof of something related to moving to Australia.  Does this make sense?  If so, what do I need?  This will help me know how many/what types of records I should hold on to versus how much stuff I should get rid of.  Thanks.

Thanks for everyone's input and feedback.