How to Live a Life in Saudi

I have been working here in Dammam for more than 2 years, and I honestly could tell that up to now I am still struggling on the way to cope up with co work mates and company cultures.
Let me give you a glimpse the reason why I have this difficulty.
Back in the Philippines where I had my studies and vast work of trainings and experiences. I worked with good structured company and with professional officemates.

Upon arriving here in Saudi I never thought that I will be culture shocked, coz I am a person with strong personality and positive outlook in life. I cannot imagine here that your countrymen not in general would do something bad against you when they found out that you are good enough in your skill and witty.

There was a time that I am placed in the stage of chaotic situation, where the company culture differ with the one that I used to observe and implement back in the Philippines.

I believe it is not only me that experience this way, I know there are some of you out there experiences the same way too.

Let me invite you to share this struggles and what did you do to advance and cope up with.

I will share to you how am I facing this situation on my next mail.

Panggalatok

Hi Panggalatok,

Welcome to expat-blog!

Your post was moved to the Dammam forum for better visibility.

Sorry to hear about those hard time, hope things get better soon. ;)

Regards,

David.

Hi Pang, you don't give any specific examples.  All I can say, from my experience, is to learn to 'go with the flow.' 

I had a colleague from the UK didn't understand this.  She was always expecting the people we worked with to act like Westerners and expected the work environment to be like what she knew in the UK.  Of course, this wasn't the way it was (nor could be) and so she was always angry and frustrated.  Needless to say, she didn't have a pleasant work experience.

Hi David and Alie,