Newbie here - Hello everyone!!

I'm from Scotland, my husband from Portland, Oregon and we live in Nevada.  It's a huge decision to retire overseas but we feel it will be a good one for us.  We've more or less decided on Panama (trust me, after a lot of researching) and are planning to travel in March or April of this year.  We've been busy bees trying to get as much information as possible from the internet but we're finding it's either outdated or a marketing spiel.

We'd love to chat with expats who have taken that leap of faith and moved to Panama...maybe even meet up while we're there.  Anyone up for it?

Slainte,

ImaScot

Hey ImaScot,

Welcome to the Panama forum. There are a lot of people with a lot of great information in here. My advice to you is listen to the good and bad, take notes, but ultimately you need to visit Panama and make your own decision. Panama blogs are full of people who either absolutely love Panama and will tell you nothing bad about it, or people who hate it and have nothing nice to say. I live here and I love it, but it's not perfect. There are a lot of things you'll have to get used to. So glance over some of the past posts and then do your homework.

Yes, as you mentioned, a lot of the info on the web is outdated or marketing ploys. From the conference ticket toting "retire overseas" experts to the real estate companies trying to sell you a house, there's a lot of info to weed through. This blog is a great source of info. Plus, many of the bloggers here have their own blogs too. Mine is www.thestayathomegringo.blogspot.com. I just talk about goofy stuff you encounter here. I don't mention much about real estate, immigration (unless I'm sharing my own experiences), or taxes. I leave all that tough stuff to the professionals. So check out previous posts here and check out some of the bloggers' personal blogs as well. Let me know if I can help with anything.

Chris