Trying a new spot for my question about building costs! Anyone? (~_*

Hello
I am a resident of Washington State with a husband that has 25+ years in the Aeronautics/Aviation business, and a son skilled in Manufacturing Technology. Both are what I would consider "skilled" labor.

We as a family are considering moving to PR in 2-3 years as a precursor to full retirement for my husband and I later on.

My biggest concern is trying to build a home or buy one for $220,000 or less.  It does not need to be big by any means, just comfortable.

Does anyone know of the average cost per square foot to build anywhere on the West or Southern side of the Island?

Thanks so much for any advice given and I look forward to using the site often for my research.

Buying a house should not be your biggest concern. There are houses for sale from 40, 50 thousand. Just google "real estate puerto rico" and you'll see for yourself.

What should be your concern is if you and your family would be happy in this country which, although it is part of the USA, is completely different from anything you know in the US.

Before you decide to move here I would suggest to spend as much time here as you can afford. Don't visit the tourist attractions - there will be time for that after you decide you want to live here. Go to neighborhoods where you might consider to live, check the stores, medical care. Go to an emergency room and sit there for 7, 8 hours and try to decide if you could handle that when needed.
You might even be able to rent a house or apartment for a short stay - that would give you a much better impression of how life here would be than staying in a hotel or guest house.

If your son and husband plan to work here, do they speak Spanish? (important since that's the language here)