Expats: two step authentication

This is my first post.  I'm a newbie at this and I believe there are persons out there who are successfully dealing with this.   Just as an example, you are a US expatriate in France.  You want to log into your brokerage account.  In the US you have double authentication and normally you get an sms with a temporary password.

How do you deal with double authentication in France.  You don't want the sms coming through Verizon.  Do you get a local sim card and continue to receive sms?  Would US brokerage firms send such an sms?

Finally, many techies don't think you should use sms for double authentication.  What do you do instead?  Thanks.

I dont have the double authentication, and it worked just fine on my last trip to France.
I use fidelity. Just be sure your connection is secure.

So places will allow the second authorization as an email.
Bobmo

2-factor authentication is a real problem.  If you have the option to use email instead of SMS, that'll solve your problem.  I've read that some investment companies are closing accounts with expats, so even if their website lets you enter a French phone number, I don't recommend taking that risk.  There are SMS forwarding companies (I use one called TossableDigits.com) that can email you each SMS it receives, and then you can change your phone number with your investment company to use that virtual phone number.  If they send from a short SMS phone number, it might just not work with a virtual phone number (I had that problem with Wells Fargo). Hope this helps.

Thanks, Bobmo.  Happy with any help I can get.  Not all will allow sending the code to email.  I'll experiment.