Working in services in DR

Hello everyone!

A week from now I moved to DR and wish to find a job which allow me to settle here. I have already 15 years of experience working in services from bar view. Got all necessary skills, experience and truly love the job, maybe because I simply like people :)

I'm already at Bávaro/Cortecito I'm so open to meet you guys as well as I'm open for your advices considering living here and so on.

Hope someone is up for a meeting :)

All the best!

Well me to the forums!   

Interns of a job - do you have a cedula and residency?  Without that you will find it very hard to get work.

You realize how badly paid bar and service work is here?

I am sure others in the area will be interested in getting together. I am in Santo Domingo.

Hey there!

Thought I can apply for work visa right after positive work interwiew…

Also, considering low earnings, I realise that is far away that I could earn in Europe but in resorts and premium hotels mostly (as heard) they give accommodation and catering so even if they would pay me like 1000 $ monthly I would be fine I guess…

So work visas must be started in your home country.

Unless you are a manager no one pays 1,000 a month.

Waiters here make maybe 300 a month. Bartenders in the best resorts might make 400.  Dining room manager maybe 600.  Same for specialty restaurant at better resorts.

Those jobs are few and far between still and highly contested.  We still have very high unemployment here!

Seriously ? I assume you know what you talking about so i guess i need to re-think my strategy here.. 

Happily I've got some financial backup to work on this… Maybe some remote digital work? Or investing money with someone… ?

My knowledge of wages isn't as extensive as Planner's but everything she said sounds right to me. I also don't believe the resorts provide accommodations - most of the workers live outside the resort areas where housing is much cheaper.