Buying a motorcycle with foreign license in Germany

Hi Everyone,

Can I buy, register and insure a motorcycle (or car) in Germany without a German driver's license ?

I am new in Germany. Have my Indian driver's license se which I can use here for 6 months. I also have an international driving permit to go with my Indian license.

Will I have to wait until I acquire German driver's license to buy a vehicle in Germany ?

As far as I know, you can own and register a vehicle if you are resident here - you don't need to have a valid driving license for that! (But what is the point if you cannot drive it?)

That's good news. My research said that I won't get insurance without German license.

As I said earlier, I can drive with Indian driver's license for six months. Meanwhile I can do the transfer and take the tests.

Thanks for replying.

There is no regulation against you having a vehicle insurance, but of course the insurers are private (for-profit) companies that have the right to decide for themselves whom they do business with and whom not.
In any case, without prior driving history in Germany, you will be classified in the highest (and thus most expensive) risk category.

Alright. So that means I will have to pay the highest band. I will try to get some quotes and decide.