Language schools work.

How come there are so many language schools in Malta - is there such a big demand for language learning in a rather small country? I'm a certified teacher (62) based in Bangkok (Th.). I teach English, German, Dutch and Geography. Have a EU passport (Belgium) and ca. 20 years experience in teaching in Thailand and China. Degrees are bachelors and TEFL. Would like to know if a move and applying for a position (on-line) is feasible and realistic in my situation (refer to nationality and age)? Appreciate any comment and/or advice concerning this matter.

Hey Gary,
First of all - the language schools mostly cater to incoming students, i.e. many students from Spain, Italy, other European countries, Russia, the Middle East, and also Japan and Colombia come to Malta to study English, as Malta has a British history, English is an official language there, and it's cheaper and has better weather than other destinations in Europe (mostly Britain and Ireland). You do get occasional foreigners who live in Malta and need to improve their English (mostly Eastern-Europeans and Italians), but most students come for a couple of weeks and combine studying English with a holiday.

That said, obviously there is more demand for English teachers during peak season (especially in summer, when teens come for teen camps in their school holidays), and some schools even close in winter. There are some biogger schools, however, who have enough students year-round.

With your background, finding a job as an English teacher shouldn't be a problem, but you will need to apply for a teaching permit. Google ELT Council Malta for more info on that.

As for applying online - Malta is rather "old-school" in that respect, meaning it's often hard to secure a job if you are not actually in the country.