Lawyer from South Africa wishing to work and Live in the Netherlands

I am an adult male that has been working in the legal field for over 13 years. I was an advocate for half of that, however I converted to practicing as an attorney.

My fiance got offered a great job in the Netherlands and is wanting to move there. Unless I can find employment there I don't think we will try to do a long distance thing. Her job is at the Hague.

Considering she already has employment and accommodation there, if we were to get married would that help me?

Are there any type of positions that I could qualify for in respect of employment in the Netherlands?

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Hi and welcome to the Forum.

Bizarrely, you could work as a Legal Advisor in the Netherlands with no qualifications at all.  Rather than me C&P something from the International Bar Association; this link will take you to what they think (I'm not a lawyer).

To answer your specific questions:

Marriage - it would help, but you don't have to; the Dutch Government department responsible for all this is the IND; this link will take you to their website where they describe your options for a "Spouse, registered or unmarried partner" visa; the bottom line is you have to prove a "Long-term and exclusive relationship"; how you do that is between you and the IND, but things that prove a life together pretty much sums it up.

Positions - long-range job searching is always problematic, plus you can't start tomorrow and probably don't speak Dutch.  I've already told you that you don't need a licence, but the question is who would employ you?  My advice would be to reach out to your peers on LinkedIn and see what they did.

So what do: