Do you feel at home in Germany as an expat?

Hello, I'm currently living in Japan as an expat. I've always loved languages and took quite a few in college but stuck with Japanese because the program was really good. I took one semester of german but it was unfortunately during my final semester and although I really loved it, I graduated and never continued.

Teaching english in Japan has made me realize I love working for pre-school/kindergarten aged children and would like to pursue that but in Japan, I will never be looked at as anything other than a foreigner. Not to mention the work culture isn't the healthiest here. I'm not unhappy here in Japan but going to a country where I can walk outside of the house without everyone's eyes on me like I'm an alien with 5 heads would be plus.

So my question is, as an expat in Germany (short-term, long-term, it doesnt matter), have you ever felt like you belong and fit in or are you a token foreigner forever and people treat you kinda poorly because of that? To be honest, I'm asking because I genuinely have no idea what life as an expat is like in germany besides a few generic google articles. Also would be nice for my husband to have better access to some people he can speak english with.

I moved here permanently in 2012 and love it. I fit in here better than in my "home" country (USA) and no one has treated me badly, or like a foreigner. I could already speak German when I arrived and have never expected anyone to speak English with me. When someone switches to English after hearing my accent, I just stick to German - because I enjoy speaking it! :-)