Change Employer without NOC

Hi,

I've been working here in Malaysia for almost 2 years now. I have decided not to renew my contract from my current employer. With the intention to work for another company here in Malaysia,  I asked my current employer to issue me a NOC.  but due to some dispute,  they are not gonna give me the certificate. I would like to ask what are the process for me to have that new EP for new employer.

So far,  what I knew is current employer has to cancel my EP coz even the contract will expire 2018 sept 04, they requested me an EP that will expire 2019 sept 04. Is it possible for my new employer to process my new EP before sept 4 as my current already filed the cancellation? Also,  how can i make sure that they cancelled it? How can the absence of NOC affect the chance of having new EP?

Thanks in advance :)

You need the NOC for a new employer to process an application.

Last year,  my friend was in the same situation as mine. His employer didn't issue  NOC for him.  But fortunately,  his new employer has successfully process his new EP but took longer than usual.   Is this a new rule now? I mean the NOC to be mandatory to process new EP?

It's always been the rule. What normally happens is people have to leave the country because EP is shortened and no NOC at the time - a sort of mean penalty by the employer.

Sometimes its just about waiting until the expiry date of the EP has passed (no cancellation) and by that stage no NOC is required.

Don't know the details of your friend's case.

But if you leave the country you have to remain outside until approval and enter on a Visa with Reference (VDR) to take up new position.

Hopefully the new government will overhaul the procedures and stop the ability to refuse a NOC.