American Desiring Permanent Residency

Hey all. So I have looked at the prerequisites for achieving permanent residency and I am pretty sure I have them all met. I am self employed(online poker player), have money in the bank, have a clean record, good credit score, and will be renting an apartment. First question is that good enough? The lawyers I have talked to said it is but they are also trying to charge me 3500 euros so I am skeptical. Secondly, is there any way to do this and not to pay some lawyer 3500 euros??!?! Seems outrageous to charge that much but I have never done this before. I really appreciate the responses people. Thanks alot.

Alex

Hi Alex,

The Permanent Residency Scheme has been suspended since December 2010. If the lawyer you talked to was really referring to 'Permanent' residency then I would say he doesn't know what he is talking about.Until the scheme is re-introduced with new conditions you will have to look at other options.

What you will need at the moment is Ordinary Residency as you have to have lived in Malta for 5 years to qualify for Permanent Residency.

I think you will be applying as economically self-sufficient although the fact that you will be working in Malta ( from your own desk at home working online) is technically working in Malta even if your income is probably generated outside of Malta.

My wife is American and was told 2 years ago that third country nationals cannot be self-employed. Please keep me informed if they have changed their rules and let you apply as self-employed which happens all the time in Malta.

Check out the details and requirements here:

http://www.foreign.gov.mt/Library/Cit/CEA8-URP.pdf

Your case is a difficult one and could be difficult to do it on your own.

I would recommend legal advice. The amount quoted is probably a basic fee and you might have to pay more on success if they get you the residency.

Regards
Ricky