What are the dos and don'ts of finding a job in South Korea?

Hello everyone,

Where is the best place to start when looking for a job in South Korea? Is it better to job-hunt by directly contacting the company of your interest, or should job-seekers rely on a recruitment agency, for example?

Are there any unique aspects that job-seekers should consider when preparing their CV/résumé and cover letter? Should a photo be included?

Do you have any tips on interview conduct in South Korea? Are there any particulars, such as greetings or behavioural customs?

In you opinion, is knowledge of the local language or a regional language necessary to successfully apply for a job? What level of the language should job-seekers have mastered?

Thank you for sharing your experience.

Priscilla

Hey Priscilla,

Well I am still a student, so I have been trying to find a part-time job for the past two week. With the help of a Korean friend we combed a website called albamon.com. There were available jobs but when asked if a foreigner can work they immediately denied us, no matter how skilled the person is. Besides that, it is vacation time, so all of the jobs are taken. When we had finally found jobs,  they required you to work from morning to night! So instead we decided to look for an English tutoring job.

For all English tutoring jobs they require a resume. You must provide a photo, your personal information, where you studied throughout your entire life, family,etc,. It was the first time I had ever applied for a job so I took notes. It was my first job so I had no experience. But i filled out all necessary documents. They also require a copy of your passport and foreign registration card.

After your resume is sent by email, they will give you a call or send you and email, to have an interview or to just simple deny you.