Flying Lessons in Cairo

Hi, I've recently moved to Cairo from the UK and will be here for about 6 years, work permitting. I'm a fully qualified flying instructor, which I worked as part time at weekends before coming to Egypt. I am now looking into the possibilities of a similar weekend instructor position at an airport in 6th October. Is there any expats out there that would be interested in gaining their pilots licence whilst in Cairo? If I have a number of interested possible students when I speak to the school, it might assist me in them taking me on. If you want to know what is involved please do not hesitate to message me. Thanks Steve.

Wow that sounds so interesting! As far as i know, flying lessons are crazy expensive but that's in Holland...
can you tell something about the costs of a lesson and how many lessons you need to get a license?
Best regards,
Jantine

Hi Jantine,

I've yet to find out local cost in Cairo, but in the UK it's around £6500 for a PPL (Private Pilots Licence). This is based on a minimum of 45 hours of actual flying instruction and 100 hours of ground studies. The actual number of flying hours required will greatly depend on the skill of the individual, so cost could be higher. In the UK average prices are £145 / hr. There are a couple of actual flight test that have to be completed and 9 technical exams. But it's not too difficult to pick up. I always say that anyone with the hand / eye coordination to drive a car and fly a plane.

Thanks for getting in touch.

Steve

So where can i apply?

As a 10 year lapsed holder of PPL(M) on weight shift microlights I would be very interested in a few lessons rather than going for a full qualification.

Have you made inquiries as to how you could do training. I have never heard of any private flying in Egypt, let alone at a base that up to now has been military. For others who may be looking for the license would you be CAA accredited so any license would be valid in Europe