Moving to Malta

I would be very pleased to hear the opinions of expats living in Malta.  At present I live in south Italy but I am considering moving to Malta.  I am an English teacher but I used to be a pharmacist.  Thanks everyone.:)

Hi ,

Welcome to the forum.

What questions do you have?

I think you can forget the pharmacist in Malta. There is one on every corner and about 300 more coming , mostly owner run.

English teaching  is much more promising - at least in the summer season.

Cheers
Ricky

Hi Ricky,

Thanks for the reply.  Don't worry about the pharmacy!  It was never my intention to go back to that.  24 years of it in central London was enough for me!  The problem(s) I have here in Puglia are manifold!  Primarily, there is a genetic necessity to avoid tax.  The consequence being that it is almost impossible to find a job which provides a "contract".  I am used to a system where a person pays their tax and contributions to provide for and benefit all.  I am working at the moment but it is sporadic and under the prevailing conditions!