Looking for a job or to study in Switzerland

Hello,

I am fairly new to Expats.com.

I am South African, in my mid-30's and I wish to relocate to Switzerland. There have been many challenges in trying to get employment in the country. It appears that companies don't want to deal with non-EU citizens. Most of my feedback has been either that quotas are almost met for the year or that Eu or Swiss citizens are preferred.

There have been objections about the German language, which I am busy learning. However this does not carry any weight at the moment.

The most I can get now is a 3month holiday visa, and I am not allowed to work during this time. However can I look for employment whilst in the country for 3 months? Would this improve my chances of finding employment?

Or will it be better to perhaps further my studies at a university in Switzerland? and then find part time work whilst studying? Can one then find part time work easily?

What are some of the better Universities in Switzerland, for internationals?

Any guidance or assistance is much appreciated.

Thank you.

Hello,

Firstly, no, it's forbidden to look for job with a tourist visa. And indeed, for a non-European is very very very difficult to find a job in Switzerland. Even for europeans it is hard, because quotas. And you must have a high-degree graduate or specialized in a rare or where it misses employed.

German is mandatory yes, but above all Schwyzerdeutsch... But this language is actually a dialect which is different in all german-speaking "cantons"...

For studies, all swiss universities are among the best universities of the World. But you don't have so many studies in English-languages, apart, Polytechnics, "Haute Ecole", private and tourism schools (very expensives).

The best for you is studies but Switzerland is a country very expensive for all.

Thank you Steffifi,

This is informative. :)
Oops, so glad I did not go with the tourist visa option. That would be a waste of time and money.